InfraRot Cannibal (c) Pit Hammann

Art Interface

"Secretaries from Heaven"


Veröffentlichung: März 2019
Status: Auf Lager
Art Interface - Secretaries from Heaven 2LP

Art Interface was a synth band uninfluenced by the direction of mainstream european synth stylings. a mid-western american band [except for the swedish drummer...] It was initiated by Douglas Vasey in 1979. Other members taken on board were Claes Roswell, Roger Deason and Steven Curran.They disdained Kraftwerk but loved Neu! and bands like the Stooges. instead of marching lockstep to the beat of a drum-machine the kybs were propelled by the live drumming changeups; knobs were twisted on impulse w/ no idea what sound would result . many songs were recorded "live in studio"- all members playing at once but beingrecorded on seperate tracks, which gives them a looseness & a life counter to the more robotic feel of the time.some songs had a social/political bent & thus a purpose; others were merely wild unexpected accidents of immediate creation, ranging from melodic to ambient to noise to all of the above. unlike many synth bands, guitar still often figured into the mix, sometimes in the background, and other times the synths were the background and the guitar was a striking accent, but never a traditional "lead". When they started back in 1979 Synths were quiet new and used as weird toys in their compositions. Their first synth-based Tape ‚Secretaries from Heaven’, released on their own IF Records in early 1982, was meant as a kind of parody. The combination of these simple, self-playing sounds and Doug’s great lyrics on hand was more than everyone expected. Two 7 inches (Secretaries from Heaven & Wardance) were then release in 1983 and 84). In1986 they finally released their first full-lenght Lp called ‚Great Big World of Noise and Shit’ right after releasing another Demo-Tape called ‚ist not the way it should have been but that’s the way it is’. This 2Lp combines many titles from the above mentioned releases.
InfraRot Verkaufsrang:-
InfraRot Artikelnummer:9946.316
Label:Vinyl On Demand
1.A1 Secretaries From Heaven 4:02 D. Vasey
2.A2 Chinese Takeaway 2:37 D. Vasey/ Bishop-Leggatt
3.A3 Raygun Assassins 3:55 D. Vasey
4.A4 This Day In History 3:22 D. Vasey
5.A5 The Walls Have Ears 2:10 D. Vasey/ C. Roswall
6.A6 Wardance 4:28 D. Vasey/ C. Roswall
7.A7 Real Pretty-Like 3:27 Vasey/ Curran/ Roswall
8.A8 Joyride 2:52 C. Altese/ C. Roswall
9.B1 World's Happiest Person 4:03 D. Vasey
10.B2 The Parable Of The Insane Leading The Retarded 4:05 Vasey/roswall
11.B3 Vcr 4:29 Vasey/ Curran/ Roswall
12.B4 Even In My Sleep D.vasey 1:31
13.B5 Angst Interface D.vasey/ Paul Ellis 3:57
14.B6 Secretaries From Heaven 1981 Demo 4:02 D. Vasey
15.B7 Real Pretty-Like Mix #2 Vasey/ Curran/ Roswall 4:08
16.A1 Down At The Bottom 4:19 (1986)
17.A2 Beautiful Invisible (Vocals) 3:00 (1985) C.vasey/ D. Vasey
18.A3 Death In The West 3:37 (1985)
19.A4 Salesman's Victim 2:01 (1985) (No Face On Art Interface Lp)
20.A5 Two Angel's Together #1 (1981) Vanig Fem/ D. Vasey
21.A6 Dub In The West 3:38 (1985)
22.A7 Earthbound Pt 2 7:46 (1980-85)
23.B1 Assassin 3:56 (From Lp)
24.B2 This Day From History (Slowed Up Instrumental Version) 4:07
25.B3 The Continuing Day 8:33
26.B4 Dance Your Own Way Out 1:45
27.B5 Skeleton 7:20 Vasey/ Curran/ Roswall