InfraRot Cannibal (c) Pit Hammann


"Relativly Close To The Sea"


Add to Cart

Release: November 2020
Status: In stock
V.I.P. Sale

Hundreds of CDs for just 8.88 with 25% discount from 4 CDs. 4066 weeks left.

Naevus - Relativly Close To The Sea CD

For the sixth Naevus album, Lloyd James (voice, acoustic guitar, keyboards) and Joanne Owen (bass, accordion, keyboards) joined by their regular drummer John Murphy (Knifeladder, Shining Vril). The album also features contributions from Greg Ferrari (Womb) on electric guitar, Joanna Quail (SonVer) on cello, Matt Howden (Sieben) on violin, and Arthur Shaw (Cutty Sark) on keyboard. Dominic O'Connor is there in spirit - the album includes a cover version of one of his compositions, previously unreleased in any form.Many of the tracks here have already been performed live in Naevus festival appearances before, notably 'Meat On Meat', which is close in temperament to the preceding album Silent Life. However, the remainder of the tracks on offer branch out in a range of other directions; 'Dented Mess' harks back to the existential pop elements of Truffles of Love; 'The German' is a dalliance with Schlager-esque murder balladry; while the title track itself combines slide guitar and lo-fi synths with the Naevus band sound. The centrepiece of the album, and Naevus' greatest recorded work to date, is the 18-minute 'Go Grow', takes the progressive influences that have been present in Naevus since the beginning and weds them with soaring cello and John Cale-esque piano pounding to produce a sublime epic.'Relatively Close to the Sea' is packaged in a digipak with 12 page booklet including lyrics.
InfraRot sales rank:-
InfraRot item number:5272.005